Speaking of EXPRESSO

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

usually this is my world, but…

last nite, this really kewl irish brother who became muslim (took shahda) 35 years ago with the original imam (leader) of the mosque i attend (the current imam’s grandfather) told me he knew a little something about “hot” (usually caffeinated) beverages, at our “I’tikaf” (a retreat where people stay all night at the mosque-in this case during the last 10 days of Ramadan).

im thinkin, “like WHATEVER”. as anyone who knows me will vouch, IM A BEAST ON THAT COFFEE/TEA THANG.  quiet as kept, im more of a “professional’s professional’ in this arena than even on my bike and let’s not get me started about that bike (mine numero uno is still in repair 😦 )

so he talks his game and OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH MY.

firstly he brought some kinda black tea that was overly caffeinated! BLACK and rich. it tasted sooooooooooooo good. then he instructed me to put the “cherry on top”.  He had some cream (that i later found out came from this special milk he gets from southern ohio that is pasteurized, but not homogenized, so you have to shake it because the cream and milk separate when it sits. WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!)

that shook up the whole game.

THEN

he boasted of an espresso maker he brought all the way from somerset, ohio, 2 1/2 hours away.

it was worth it, he told me of the process, but actually went into the basement depths of the mosque alone and reappeared with some concoction only a true connoisseur could appreciate. when he described his special process for frothing the milk, it was almost spiritual!

i’ve got my “fingers crossed” (figuratively, NOT literal, IM MUSLIM YOU MORON. HA) this man returns next week, even though (Inshallah) I will be celebrating my honeymoon with my new wife, between me and you, I’ll probably sneak a few minutes in for just a cup of two of this man’s ambrosia!

PEACE

the Beast also apologized 4 me on his blog, but asmaa may have being playing possum!

http://siddiqkhalifahbeastblog.wordpress.com/

im waiting 4 her 2 strike.

~ by siddiq khalifah on September 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
